There are multiple specializations within personal injury law such as car accident claims, medical malpractice, and premises liability. There are unique laws and procedures that apply to each of these areas. If you proceed with your claim without the help of an attorney who has experience in your area of need, you could wind up making a mistake that harms your claim.
A personal injury lawyer will help you avoid errors during the claims process, such as accepting a settlement too early, making recorded statements to the insurer, or missing your doctor’s appointments. Also, with a knowledgeable legal ally by your side, the insurance company may be more inclined to take your claim seriously and offer a fair payout.
If you were injured due to another person’s negligence and you would like to discuss your case with a personal injury attorney in Las Vegas, contact Truman Law Firm P.C. Call 702-821-1821 to schedule an initial consultation.
Read on to learn three facts you should know before you file a personal injury claim:
- There Is a Statute of Limitations
In the state of Nevada, the statute of limitations for filing most personal injury claims is two years. That means you have two years from the date of the incident—or from the date when your injuries should have been reasonably discovered—to file a lawsuit.
The two-year statute of limitations applies to claims involving car accidents, slip and fall incidents, and wrongful death. If your claim involves product liability, though, you have four years to file a lawsuit, and in most medical malpractice cases, you have three years to file.
- There Are Caps on Damages in Some Cases
In personal injury lawsuits, there are three different kinds of damages: economic, non-economic, and punitive damages. Economic damages include compensation for factors like medical bills and lost wages, and their total varies immensely from case to case. Punitive damages are not recoverable in all cases; their purpose is to punish the defendant for particularly egregious behavior.
Non-economic damages are more subjective and take into account factors like pain and suffering. In the state of Nevada, there is a cap on non-economic damages of $350,000 in medical malpractice cases. Additionally, civilians cannot claim more than $100,000 in damages against a government agency.
- One Small Mistake Could Harm Your Claim
A small error could reduce the amount of compensation you recover or prevent you from recovering any compensation at all. An experienced attorney can help you avoid costly mistakes such as:
- Making a recorded statement to the insurance adjuster;
- Missing doctor’s appointments;
- Posting sensitive information about your case on social media; or
- Accepting a settlement before you know the full extent of your injuries.
If you were injured by a negligent driver in Nevada, contact an accident lawyer from the Truman Law Firm P.C. to discuss your case. Call 702-821-1821 to schedule an initial consultation with a Las Vegas personal injury attorney. You can learn more about injury claims in Nevada by visiting http://personal-injury.usattorneys.com/nevada/.