A recent survey by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety revealed that on average, Americans spend 46 minutes per day behind the wheel. With so much driving experience, it’s easy to become complacent. However, no matter how responsible you are on the road, you cannot control the actions of other drivers.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, wearing a seatbelt is the most effective way to prevent injuries and save lives in car accidents. For this reason, Utah law requires that adults and children aged 8 and older wear safety restraints while inside a vehicle being operated on the highway.
According to the Motor Vehicle Safety Belt Usage Act, children who are younger than 8 must sit in an appropriate child seat or booster seat. This does not apply to children who are at least 57 inches tall, in which case the child would use a properly adjusted seatbelt.
If you or your child was injured by a reckless driver in Utah, contact the Truman Law Firm P.C. Ronald W. Truman is a personal-injury attorney in Utah who will help you claim compensation for lost wages, past and future medical bills, and non-economic damages. Call 435-986-2222 to schedule a free consultation with an accident lawyer.
What Are the Penalties for Not Wearing a Seatbelt in Utah?
According to Click It Utah, if you or another person in your vehicle is not properly restrained, then you could receive a $45 citation. However, you can avoid this fine by completing a 30-minute seatbelt safety course online.
You can only be cited one time per incident, meaning that you will only receive one citation if multiple people in your vehicle are not properly restrained. Starting on July 1, 2018, local and state police can only enforce Subsection (1)(a)(i) or (2) of the Motor Vehicle Safety Belt Usage Act as a secondary action if the driver is aged 19 or older.
NHTSA: Seatbelts Saved More Than 12,800 Lives in 2014
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that seatbelts saved the lives of 12,802 people aged 5 and older in 2014, and the lives of 252 children who were younger than 5. That same year, more than half of passenger vehicle occupants in age groups 13 to 15 and 25 to 34 who died in traffic accidents were not wearing seatbelts.
A study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention revealed that seatbelt laws, new technologies and education have motivated more people to buckle up; seatbelt use jumped to 85 percent in 2010 – an increase of 11 percent since 1981. Sadly, 1 in 7 motorists still admits to driving without buckling up regularly.
If you were injured by a negligent driver, contact the Truman Law Firm P.C. An accident lawyer in Utah will evaluate your case to determine if you have grounds for a claim. Schedule a free initial consultation today by calling 435-986-2222.