If you drive a car in the state of Nevada, it is important to understand the accident and insurance laws. There are few situations more devastating than getting in a serious wreck only to find out that you have inadequate coverage.
If you were in an accident and you have questions about the claims process, contact Truman Law Firm P.C. today. A Las Vegas personal-injury lawyer can investigate the circumstances of your crash and determine if you may have a valid claim against the negligent driver. To schedule a consultation, call us today at 702-821-1821.
Like most states, Nevada follows a fault insurance system. Read on to find out how these laws may impact your situation:
What is fault insurance?
According to the Nevada Division of Insurance, all drivers in the state must have car insurance. Like most states, Nevada follows a fault system when it comes to determining liability in car accidents. This means that the driver who causes the car accident is liable for any property damage or bodily injury.
If you were in an accident and it was not your fault, you have several potential avenues to recover damages. You can file a claim directly with the negligent driver’s insurance company, you can file a claim with your own insurance company, or you can file a personal-injury lawsuit against the individual in a civil court.
Regardless of which option you choose, it may be beneficial to consult a personal-injury lawyer. An attorney can assess the damages, handle settlement negotiations and litigate your case if it goes to trial. An experienced attorney will also know how to pursue the maximum amount of compensation.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Nevada
There are mandatory minimum car insurance requirements in the state of Nevada. According to DMV.org, Nevada drivers must have at least $15,000 of coverage in the event of an injury to a single person, $30,000 of coverage in a crash where more than one person sustains injuries, and $10,000 per accident for any property damage.
Drivers must purchase car insurance from companies that are authorized to sell insurance in the state of Nevada. Nevada laws also require that drivers produce proof of insurance when law enforcement personnel request them to do so. Failure to produce proof of insurance may result in a suspended license or a $250 fine.
It is important to remember that serious accidents may cost significantly more than the minimum insurance levels. Consult with an insurance expert to determine a suitable amount of coverage for your driving habits and risk profile.
It is not mandatory to carry uninsured motorist coverage in Nevada, but it can protect you in the event of a crash with an individual who does not have suitable car insurance.
If you were in an accident caused by a negligent driver, call Truman Law Firm, P.C. today at 702-821-1821. A Las Vegas accident attorney can evaluate your case and determine if you have a valid claim.