LAS VEGAS, Nevada. Just this week, an 18-year-old-woman was arrested after allegedly live streamed her car accident and sisters death. According to ABC News, the California teen faces charges for driving while under the influence and gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated. Cosmopolitan reports that another teen’s friends watched while the driver livestreamed a 100-mile-per-hour crash. The suspect in this video hit a truck, drove across three lanes, and hit the highway barrier. Police have asked Facebook for a copy of the video to use it as evidence in trial.
No parent should have to endure the loss of a child, but that is the tragic reality faced by thousands of parents who lose children in car accidents every year. According to Teen Driver Source, about 11,000 teens lose their lives in traffic accidents annually, and 326,000 are seriously injured.
The Las Vegas Sun reports on a school bus crash that injured 11 people including eight middle school students and the bus driver, as well as a woman and an infant who were in the SUV that hit the bus. The accident occurred just before 9 a.m. when the bus was en route to Faiss Middle School. Thirty-seven students were onboard at the time of the collision.
The loss of a family member is always a grievous tragedy, but the experience can be particularly devastating if your loved one died due to the negligent or malicious actions of another person. Pursuant to Utah Code section 78B-3-106, if your family member died due to the wrongful act or negligence of another person, you can pursue damages by filing a wrongful death lawsuit.
Drunk driving is a primary cause of serious accidents throughout the year, but alcohol-related crashes are particularly common over holiday breaks such as Memorial Day weekend. In 2010, more than 390 people lost their lives in traffic accidents over the Memorial Day holiday period—and drunk driving contributed to nearly 40 percent of those deaths.
Whiplash is one of the most common car accident injuries. Although neck injuries can occur in most types of collisions, rear-end crashes are the leading cause of whiplash in the United States. According to Right Diagnosis, approximately 120,000 people suffer whiplash in our country every year, and if left unaddressed, the condition can worsen and possibly cause a permanent disability.
It can seem impossible to think clearly after a serious collision, but your statements and actions in the immediate aftermath can have a profound impact on the success of your personal injury claim. In addition to contacting the police and recording the contact information of eyewitnesses, it is essential that you take pictures of the accident scene.
If you were injured due to the negligence of another person or organization, you may have grounds for a personal injury claim. Every state has a specific deadline, called a statute of limitations, by which personal injury claims must be filed. If you attempt to file your claim after the statute of limitations has expired, it is likely that the court will dismiss your case.
Multiple studies show that the use of an appropriate child seat or booster seat significantly reduces the risk of injuries in the event of an accident. For this reason, Utah law mandates that children younger than 8 sit in an appropriate restraint system. This rule does not apply to kids who are at least 57 inches tall, at which point it is permissible to use a lap and shoulder belt without a booster seat.