3 Scenarios When You Can File a Lawsuit after a Boating Accident

Nevada has plenty to offer for watersport enthusiasts. Local residents and tourists flock to Lake Tahoe, Lake Mead, Lake Topaz, and the Colorado River to fish, Jet Ski, and enjoy a much-needed break from work. Unfortunately, with such an active boating community comes a high risk of getting in an accident.

In 2014, there were at least 47 recreational boating accidents in Nevada, according to the United States Coast Guard. These incidents killed 11 people and injured many others.

If you were hurt or lost a family member in a boating wreck, you may be entitled to compensation. A Las Vegas personal injury attorney from The Truman Law Firm P.C. will evaluate your case to determine if you have grounds for a claim.

Ronald W. Truman has been practicing law for more than 25 years. Schedule a free consultation today by calling 702-821-1821.

Read on to learn about three scenarios when you can file a lawsuit after a boating accident:

  1. Boating under the Influence

Boating under the influence of drugs or alcohol is incredibly dangerous. It is also illegal.

Pursuant to NRS 488.410, it is against the law for a person with a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher “to operate or be in actual physical control of a vessel under power or sail on the waters of this State.” If you were injured or lost a family member because a person was boating under the influence, you can claim damages from that person.

Pursuant to NRS 42.010, in addition to economic and non-economic damages, you may also be entitled to exemplary damages, also known as punitive damages, if you were injured or lost a family member due to an intoxicated boater.

  1. Violation of Other Boating Regulations

Boating under the influence is not the only violation that can result in death or injuries. A boater may be liable for damages if he or she violates one of the following regulations:

  • A person born in or after 1983 must complete a boating education program before he or she can legally operate a boat with more than 15 horsepower;
  • Children younger than 13 must wear lifejackets at all times while on watercraft;
  • Operating a watercraft within 100 feet of an orange flag, which indicates that a skier is “down,” is prohibited;
  • It is unlawful to operate a motorboat faster than the posted speed limit; and
  • It is unlawful to create wake in a no-wake zone.

You can learn more about these and other regulations by reading Chapter 488 of the Nevada Revised Statutes.

  1. Defective Equipment

A defective engine part or safety device can contribute to serious injuries. Depending on the exact cause of the defect, victims may be entitled to compensation from the part designer, manufacturer, distributor, or vendor.

If you were hurt or lost a family member in a boating accident in Nevada, contact The Truman Law Firm P.C. Call 702-821-1821 to schedule a free consultation with an accident lawyer in Las Vegas.